Three Tech Faculty Named AAAS Fellows

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has named three Georgia Tech professors as 2014 Fellows. AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society, and election as a Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers.  

One of the new AAAS Fellows comes from the College of Engineering and two come from the College of Sciences. The Fellows were announced in the journal Science and will be honored at the Fellows Forum, held Feb. 14, 2015, at the AAAS Annual Meeting in San Jose, California.

The new AAAS Fellows at Georgia Tech are:

Christopher W. Jones, New-Vision Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering. Jones was honored for distinguished contributions to the fields of chemistry and chemical engineering, particularly developments in catalysis sciences and carbon dioxide capture.

C. David Sherrill, professor of chemistry and biochemistry. Sherrill was honored for advances in electronic structure theory and their application in seminal studies of non-covalent pi interactions.

Howard (Howie) Weiss, professor of mathematics. Weiss was honored for distinguished contributions to dynamical systems theory, studies of properties of Gibbs measures and entropy, and applications to models of social phenomena including urban growth.

AAAS is an international nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing science around the world by serving as an educator, leader, spokesperson, and professional association. AAAS publishes the journal Science as well as many scientific newsletters, books, and reports, and spearheads programs that raise the bar of understanding for science worldwide. The three Georgia Tech faculty members were among 401 Fellows elected by the AAAS Council in November. 


Related Media

Click on image(s) to view larger version(s)

  • AAAS Logo

  • 2014 AAAS Fellows

  • Christopher W. Jones

  • C. David Sherrill

  • Howard (Howie) Weiss

For More Information Contact

Kristen Bailey
Institute Communications