Four Faculty Members Earn Regents Titles

Four Georgia Tech faculty members have been recognized by the Board of Regents for exceptional contributions in education and research.

A Regents Professor and Regents Researcher title represents the highest academic and research status bestowed by the University System of Georgia. It is meant to recognize a substantial, significant, and ongoing record of scholarly achievement that has earned high national esteem over a sustained period. 

Two academic faculty members were named as Regents Professors:

  • Mark Hay, professor in the School of Biology, and
  • Dimitri Mavris, director of the Aerospace Systems Design Laboratory and professor in the School of Aerospace Engineering.

Two research faculty members were granted the title of Regents Researcher:

  • Helena Mitchell, executive director of the Center for Advanced Communications Policy and principal research scientist in the School of Public Policy, and 
  • Lora Weiss, principal research engineer and chief scientist, Georgia Tech Research Institute.

“These individuals are among the finest scholars in the nation,” said Provost Rafael L. Bras. “They represent preeminence in scholarship and research, which, in turn, has important implications for Georgia Tech and for the economic success of the state. Most importantly, it is our students who benefit from the experience of being taught, advised, and mentored by these outstanding faculty.”

Nominations are the result of a unanimous recommendation from the president, provost, executive vice president for research, a faculty committee, and college deans. 

“They have made tremendous contributions to the research, education, and economic development missions of Georgia Tech,” added Executive Vice President for Research Stephen E. Cross. “Beyond that, they are highly regarded for the impact their innovative ideas and technical accomplishments have had within the R&D community across the nation and around the globe.”

The titles are awarded by the Board of Regents, which governs the University System of Georgia.

Related Media

Click on image(s) to view larger version(s)

  • Lora Weiss

  • Dimitri Mavris

  • Mark Hay

  • Dr. Helena Mitchell